cake flavoured book tag

I saw this tag on Zezee with Books and knew that I just had to do it! As anyone who knows me in real life can tell you, I am the worst sweet tooth ever and I absolutely LOVE cake.

Chocolate – a dark book you absolutely love

Unknown.jpeg

Definitely would have to be Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado. This book is so deliciously dark and sexy and gorgeous, just like chocolate cake!

Vanilla – a light read

823a4d40-41dd-42f9-bfaf-13a93e32969b--White_Russian_Cake.jpg

I’m choosing a book I just finished reading, From Twinkle With Love! It’s such a light and fluffy read.

Red Velvet – a book that gave you mixed emotions

gq1khg1ullp31lkyimxg.jpg

I’m going to have to choose The People in the Trees by Hanya Yanagihara for this one. This gave me such mixed emotions, and I honestly didn’t know what to think. I’m intrigued to see whether A Little Life does the same thing.

Cheesecake – a book you would recommend to anyone

TC 7-29-166281_10428_NYSTYLECHEESECAKE_CROP.jpg

I would recommend The Upside of Unrequited to anybody because it is light and fluffy and would give the person an insight into my mind.

Coffee cake – a book you started but never finished

Coffee-cake.jpg

I am still perpetually in the middle of White Tears by Hari Kunzru. I don’t know, I thought this book would appeal to me but it just really didn’t. I should probably DNF it.

Carrot cake – a book with great writing

classic_carrot_cake_08513_16x9.jpg

I have to choose The Astonishing Colour of After by Emily X R Pan for this one. I was blown away by the fabulism and the way Pan combines the real world with the magical one. The characters were really well-rounded too.

Tiramisu – a book that left you wanting more

2017-10-28-Tiramisu-6.jpg

Children of Blood and Bone, hands down! I can’t wait for the next book to come out. I wish I had waited until the next one was out until I read it.

Cupcakes – a series with 4+ books

1372752153-vanilla-cupcakes-with-swirly-icing-mary-berry-s-cookery-course__square.jpg

I don’t really read series, so I’m going to go with a childhood classic – A Series of Unfortunate Events!

Fruit cake – a book that wasn’t what you were anticipating

recipe-image-legacy-id--268475_12.jpg

Definitely Snowsisters. I’ve talked a little bit about this in the past, but this was a book about an all-female writing group that ended up being super transphobic. I was NOT anticipating that.

Doing this tag has absolutely made me crave cake!! What about you?

 

 

19 thoughts on “cake flavoured book tag

  1. howlsmovinglibrary says:

    Is it ok if I do this tag? Your answers were so interesting, but also the pictures of cake made me hungry ^^

    Like

  2. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense says:

    This is my kind of tag. I need to read Her Body and Other Parties. All I hear is good things. And The Astonishing Color of After is currently sitting on my shelf waiting for me. I also can’t wait for The Children of Blood and Bone sequel. I almost preordered it today >_< Great answers!

    Like

Leave a comment