book buying habits tag

I wasn’t tagged in this, but I personally love being nosy about people’s books and collections so I thought I would give it a go! Please consider yourself tagged if you’re interested 🙂

Where do you buy your books from?

I’m ashamed to say it, but – Amazon. I’m a student, I don’t have the cash for anywhere else, really. However, I do buy books from independent stores whenever I can, which includes the shop I work at.

Do you ever pre-order books and if so, do you do this in-store or online?

Not generally, no.

On average, how many books do you buy a month?

Oh God. I really make use of Kindle Unlimited – I pretty much always have the maximum of 10 books rented at a time. I also try and find as many sales as possible, and I use Netgalley so…. around 20?

Do you use your local library?

Occasionally. I use my university library for academic texts, mostly.

If so, how many do you borrow at a time?

3ish.

What’s your opinion on library books?

I really do love library books, I don’t know why I don’t use it more often! I’m hoping that I’ll be able to make use of the uni library over the summer and finally read some classic stuff! (I’m thinking a lot of Rushdie, for some reason.)

How do you feel about charity shop/second hand books?

Yes! Very yes! They’re cheaper, which is brilliant, and they sometimes have peak old book smell which makes me incredibly happy.

Do you keep your read and TBR pile together/on the same bookshelf or not?

LOL. In my current house I don’t have any bookshelves (I KNOW) so I’ve got piles of books stacked everywhere. And in no order. I can feel all of bookstagram screaming at me now!

Do you plan to read all the books you own?

At some point, yes.

What do you do with books that you own and that you’ll feel you’ll never read/enjoy?

I mean, I’ve got some books which are more decorative than anything, so I’ll just display them I think. I also never read my signed copies of books.

Have you ever donated books?

Yup, I’ve moved around a lot in these past 3 years so I’ve donated quite a few of my older books to charities and students. However, they’re always books that I didn’t enjoy, so it’s not a big deal for me. I also really like the idea of passing on books to other people who might enjoy them more than I did.

Do you feel like you buy too many books?

Is there ever such a thing as too many books?! But yeah, probably. My TBR is absolutely enormous, and I’m always adding to it. It’s overwhelming, but in the best possible way.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this little insight into my book buying! I’d love to know how you all get your hands on new books!

4 thoughts on “book buying habits tag

  1. MyBookJacket says:

    Why don’t you read your signed copies??!!! I’m actually leaving somewhere for a week and I don’t want to take my signed copy with me so I’m going to have to pause the read. Sigh. Also I’m so doing this tag. Hehe

    Like

Leave a comment