22nd-29th august bookish roundup

Hiya! Sorry for the lack of updates, blah blah, you know the drill.

More bestsellers are in line for film adaptations, including Everything, Everything, The Luminaries, and Truly Madly Guilty. I haven’t read any of these, so I can’t comment on their potential for adaptation at the moment. All I can say is – hopefully these will encourage people to read the books, too. 🙂

There’s been a lot of discussion about how to get your hands on books when you don’t have much cash to spare. These lists by Fables Library and Diary of a Reading Addict are good. I’m a student, I get it. But don’t download books, guys. Not cool.

I’m sure everyone heard about this, but there was an enormous response on Twitter to Joe Nutt’s article ‘Why Young-Adult Fiction is a Dangerous Fantasy’ (I’m not going to link it, sorry. In its first sentence it mocks transgender and autistic teenagers, and I’m not having that sort of content on my blog). I think that it generated a lot of good discussion, but…ugh. Old man shouts at cloud, strikes again.

Got a couple of dollars to spare? I would suggest putting them towards Milkweed Books – I couldn’t possibly summarise all of the wonderful things they’re trying to do, so I’ll just say this: if you love independents, help them out. (I’m saying this out of my own volition by the way – they’re based in Minneapolis so there’s no way I’m getting to them anytime soon! I just really, really love independent bookstores. They’re the royalty of the bookish world, no questions asked.)

Finally, on a personal note, I binged Stranger Things yesterday and I am fully obsessed.

Leave a Reply

