short story sunday

I borrowed this idea from Lacy Literacy, thank you very much for inspiring me! As many of you know, I am a huge fan of short stories – they’re a seriously underappreciated form of writing, in my opinion. So I thought every now and again I would do a Short Story Sunday to share what stories I’ve been reading!

Woman Hollering Creek by Sandra Cisneros

30861.jpg

A collection of stories, whose characters give voice to the vibrant and varied life on both sides of the Mexican border. The women in these stories offer tales of pure discovery, filled with moments of infinite and intimate wisdom.

Sandra Cisneros is more famously known for her collection of flash fiction, The House on Mango Street. In my opinion, this collection is even better.

Sour Heart by Jenny Zhang

32956008.jpg

Centered on a community of immigrants who have traded their endangered lives as artists in China and Taiwan for the constant struggle of life at the poverty line in 1990s New York City, Zhang’s collection examines the many ways that family and history can weigh us down and also lift us up. From the young woman coming to terms with her grandmother’s role in the Cultural Revolution to the daughter struggling to understand where her family ends and she begins, to the girl discovering the power of her body to inspire and destroy, these seven stories illuminate the complex and messy inner lives of girls struggling to define themselves.

I haven’t quite finished Sour Heart yet – it’s definitely one of those collections that is meant to be savoured rather than devoured.

Ripped Pages by M. Hollis

35423342-1.jpg

Princess Valentina lives a reasonably comfortable life, but after her mother’s death, her father gets tired of taking care of her and locks her in a tower. She spends years on her own, talking to the birds on her windowsill, and reading books with adventures she will never experience. Her plans of running away are usually left for another day because she knows the vast forest surrounding her tower is too dangerous to cross alone. Until one day, another girl passes by on her horse and Valentina wonders if she’s finally brave enough to seize her chance of freedom.

So this is technically a novella but it was so cute that I absolutely had to include it – I adored this short retelling of Rapunzel. (I mean, Tangled is one of my favourite movies ever, so I knew I was going to love a F/F retelling.)

I recently also read Half Pipe by Zoe Whittall (content warnings for rape, alcoholism, under-age drinking, under-age sex) and Queership has put up a great selection of Halloween/horror short stories that thoroughly got me in the mood for Halloween the other day! (It includes one of my favourites, Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers by Alyssa Wong.)

Have you read any great short stories recently? Please let me know – I’m always on the look-out for more! My next collection of short stories is probably going to be The Book of Istanbul: A City in Short Fiction.

2 thoughts on “short story sunday

Leave a Reply

