#mentalhealthmonday – TREAT YOURSELF

Self care, y’all. We all should do it, and we all probably don’t have enough time. Here are a few quick and easy ways that I like to treat myself on a student budget:

  • Buy a Kindle book

Or a book from Amazon marketplace! Or just a cheap book! There’s nothing more exciting than a new book, and at less than 99p, Kindle books are often my go-to. Even if you don’t have the energy to read it right now, it is something to look forward to.

  • Body scrub/lotion

When I’m not up to having a shower, I sometimes slather myself in body lotion or do a little body scrub instead. I feel pampered without going to the effort of having a shower, which sometimes takes up a lot of my spoons. I’ve made my own body scrub a couple of times, too. All you really need is sugar and a smelly oil of some kind – I used some of my mum’s lavender essential oils.

  • Have a nap

Okay, sometimes this backfires on me, but there is nothing more luxurious for me than taking a quick catnap in the afternoon. Sometimes I really need this to wake up refreshed and ready to tackle the rest of the day.

  • A cup of tea

Almost everyone has that nice tea languishing at the back of the cupboard waiting for a ‘special occasion’. Now is that occasion!

  • Be creative

Do some colouring! Draw something ridiculous! Put on terrible pop music and dance around! If there’s something on your mind, journal about it! Sometimes if there’s a real problem in my life I write it down on a piece of paper and then rip it up as hard as I can. It is strangely satisfying, and allows me to voice my frustration in a positive way.

I know that these are all simple suggestions, but I honestly do believe that sometimes the smallest things can make a big difference. Treating yourself kindly is essential to mental wellbeing, and if having a special cup of tea is your version of self care, then go for it.

How do you practice self care?

Leave a Reply

