the log in london: first weeks!

As many of you are aware, I recently moved to London! Me and my boyfriend Jay have spent these past couple of weeks exploring all over the city.

22171761_10213101926323727_2014233616_o

In Shoreditch, looking enigmatic. 

We’ve been doing lots of exciting things, including hanging out in many of the parks, and going to a cat cafe! Lady Dinah’s Cat Emporium was an incredible experience – we got snacks and drinks and 90 minutes to hang out with the cats! When we eventually move in together we’re thinking about getting two cats (Colonel Fluff and Edgar Allan Poe) so we wanted to have a little practice being cat lovers, as neither of us have owned one before. Needless to say, we are now definitely set on the cat path!

We also went on a walking tour around Royal London, where we learned a lot of interesting facts about Buckingham Palace, St. James’ Palace, and Westminster. I’d only wandered around there before myself, so it was nice to have a guide to tell us all about these iconic places.

I have of course also been dragging him into every bookstore that I see, the most notable being the Brick Lane Bookshop, which had an amazing East London section, and the Gower Street Waterstones, which is literal heaven in a bookshop. This Waterstones is right next to my university, so I am definitely going to go to some of the events, and just generally hang out there, quite often.

I am of course actually here to do my Masters in Publishing, which has been going amazingly so far. Everyone has been lovely, and although I know that this is going to be a lot of work, I’m excited to finally sink my teeth into a degree where I am 100% committed.

If you’d like to hear more about my Masters and the bookish things I’m getting up to in London, please leave a comment – whilst I enjoy writing up these posts very much, I need to know whether you all enjoy reading them! In the near future I’m going to a couple of different talks about women and literature, so if you’d like to hear about those let me know!

9 thoughts on “the log in london: first weeks!

  1. Lydia Tewkesbury says:

    I’d love to hear about your London adventures! Where were you living before? Is it a huge change? I know a few people who moved to London after we graduated but it kind of scares me from financial and emotional perspectives!

    Like

  2. Sarah says:

    I’d love to hear more about your masters and bookish events and life in London in general! As a side note, I have never lived without cats (save for a year or two after college when I was in no-pets-allowed apartments, and even then I was volunteering at the humane society every week), so I am obsessed with them. I don’t know how people live without cats.

    Like

  3. christine @ the story salve says:

    I AM LIVING FOR THIS POST PLEASE DO MORE OF THESE

    Sorry for shouting, but seriously, I’m living vicariously through you. It’s always been a dream of mine to live in London but then I realized (a) why would y’all want me as a citizen or temporary resident and (b) I’m broke >.<

    I'm so glad you guys had a chance to explore though! When I first moved to New York, I was so lucky to have 3 weeks of paid vacation (thank you, Starbucks), so I basically just explored for most of that. I actually credit those 3 weeks for my extensive, creepy knowledge of the subway (because I memorized it) and the fact that I found coffee shops in pretty much every neighborhood of Manhattan and parts of Brooklyn. Granted, none of this is useful info anymore BUT it's such a great experience. I'm so excited that you're doing this and I can't wait to hear more.

    ALSO really jealous of the cat cafe thing. Can I just click my heels and teleport there? As in, I want to live inside the cat cafe. Forever.

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      THANK YOU I THINK I WILL!

      I’m looking forward to having the same esoteric knowledge about London. 🙂 I’ve not had a lot more time to explore, though I’m thinking about doing a bookshop crawl with some of my classmates sometime soon!

      The cat cafe was so great!! I would highly recommend it as an experience!

      Like

Leave a Reply

