down the tbr hole

Hello, one and all to the third edition of Down the TBR Hole. My TBR on goodreads is currently at 515 books and that needs to be edited down!!

16286376.jpg

The Summer We Got Free by Mia McKenzie – I am DEFINITELY keeping this one, I’ve seen so much great stuff about it! It sounds intersectional af.

23719408.jpg

Under the Udala Trees by Chinelo Okparanta – again this is definitely a KEEP. I’ve not read a negative review yet. I’ve also got a copy on my Kindle that I need to get around to at some point.

22692740.jpg

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin – I’ve not read enough books that have gender-fluid main characters (only the one so far, I need to work on that) so this is going to be a KEEP. I kinda like that the main character is a blogger, too.

30075802.jpg

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

28371999.jpg

The Other Boy by M. G. Hennessey – the blurb says that this book is perfect for fans of George by Alex Gino, so it is going to have to be a KEEP. George was probably my favourite book of 2016, so I just can’t pass this up.

24974996.jpg

Dear Martin by Nic Stone – this book has been on my TBR for ages, I can’t believe that it isn’t out yet! Obviously a KEEP, and I’m particularly interested in how it compares with The Hate U Give.

25226116.jpg

Here We Are: Feminism for the Real World by Kelly Jensen – I’m really conflicted by this one. I have an ARC from the publisher, but I am aware that it contains problematic content. For now I’m going to REMOVE it from my TBR, but…I probably will read it at some point. I’d feel bad if I didn’t.

24953051.jpg

The Rules of Ever After by Killian B Brewer – I’m not as interested in this as I was before. REMOVE.
60944.jpg

Meridian by Alice Walker – this is a definite KEEP. I really do need to read more Alice Walker, and I might as well start here!

26109438.jpg

Boy Erased: A Memoir by Garrard Conley – I’m conflicted about this one too. I don’t know whether I want to read this, because it seems extremely depressing, and I’ve read enough books about gay conversion camps. But at the same time, it is an own voices memoir.

Well, that’s me! If you’ve read any of the books that I’ve mentioned, give me a shout! I didn’t so so great this time around, mainly because I don’t think I can bear to get rid of many diverse books. There are so many narratives out there that I just need to read! (The art in my graphic can be found here).

7 thoughts on “down the tbr hole

  1. Alex says:

    I really liked Symptoms of Being Human and I liked but didn’t love Boy Erased. I also recently dropped The Rules of Ever After from my TBR list. I downloaded a sample and I just didn’t care for the writing style at all. Haven’t read any of the others but several look interesting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

