love the skin you’re in tag

I found the love the skin you’re in tag here, and I absolutely knew that I had to use it for a Mental Health Monday post. Dissatisfaction with and often hatred of my body has played a big part in my mental health, especially throughout my teenage years. I’m trying to combat that now, but it still plays a daily role in my mood and understanding of myself.

One feature you love about yourself?

I love my tattoos and piercings! I recently got my nose pierced (just a little stud, nothing huge) and I absolutely adore it. With each new piercing or tattoo, I feel like the inner me is coming closer and closer to the surface of my outer self. (You can just about see it on the right side of my nose in this pic!)

Screenshot 2017-09-02 19.41.39.png

One feature you wish/wished you could change that you are trying to accept or have accepted?

I don’t really like my arms – I never wear sleeveless tops or dresses because I feel like people will stare at them because of my weird tan and my chub. However, in my search for body positivity, I’m going to try my best to get over this, and flaunt my arms for all to see!

Have you ever thought of getting surgery to change your imperfections?

Yes. I have thought about breast augmentation/liposuction before, but I don’t think I’ll be going around this route. I think this is a good idea for some people, and I don’t blame them at all! I just feel it would be healthier for me to try to work at my perceived imperfections, and to strengthen my back rather than reduce the weight of my boobs.

One of your main role models for body positivity?

I don’t really have any – however, this question has made me look up some! I’m definitely going to be following body positivity bloggers and instagrammers now that I’ve researched a bit. One person I really like so far is Ragini at A Curious Fancy! She is so adorable!

Screenshot 2017-09-02 20.01.10.png

Has a family member or friend ever put you down about your physical appearance? If so what for?

Hahahah YES. For all sorts of things – not wearing makeup, not dressing as I ‘should’, not covering myself up. A lot of people don’t mean to do this – it’s just that society has told everyone to police bodies, including those of friends and family. I’m trying to break that idea.

Something you love about your fashion sense or style?

I like that I’m slowly growing to realise that I can wear what I want, and not give a rat’s ass about what other people think. I absolutely adore vintage clothing, and I think it makes me look really cute, so I’m going to wear it!! Fuck the haters.

Why is your body a great place to be?

My body is a great place to be because it is curvy and cute and very flexible! It is a canvas for my self-expression, whether it be through tattoos, piercings or makeup! It is me, and I shouldn’t be afraid of loving it.

If you want to do this tag, consider yourself tagged! Body positivity is always a good thing xx

(The drawing of the lovely lady in my graphic can be found here).

9 thoughts on “love the skin you’re in tag

  1. ahitsdina says:

    Wendy, I’m so impressed with your content. You manage to be inspirational and honest at the same time. I like the person you have linked as your model for body positivity. She/they are very beautiful! Definitely followed them on Instagram. Also: YES to finding ways to unearth your inner self. It is quite the process (from my experience). Loving this post, by the way.

    Like

  2. christine @ the story salve says:

    First of all, I think this is the first time I’ve ever seen a picture of you and for a second I forgot that you’re not your profile/avatar photos – so now I’m laughing at myself >.<

    Congrats on the nose piercing btw. I've had mine for about 3 years now. The only time I've ever even slightly regretted it was a couple months ago when somehow sawdust from building the bus got stuck in the hole and I thought I was going to get an infection – yay!

    I love that you did this tag. Being honest with ourselves (and our blog readers) about things is sometimes so terrifying. But since I discovered the #MentalHealthMonday thing and started trying to write honestly about my struggles, I've gotten such positive feedback from people who get what I'm going through. It's been so helpful to have a small community of people who just get it, and being honest and open is what allows that to happen.

    I hope you're doing well 🙂

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      Haha this is the third time someone has said this to me!!!

      I love the piercing, though it keeps getting caught on things, including my boyfriend’s nose!! Do you normally have just a stud in yours?

      Thank you 🙂 I cannot express to you how much your support means to me xx Together we can keep on trucking!

      Liked by 1 person

      • christine @ the story salve says:

        I had a stud for the first year or so, and then I switched to a ring. I hated the stud because (a) I felt like it was constantly flipped the wrong way and showing the back to everyone else and (b) I felt like nobody noticed I even had a piercing. I definitely like the ring better, although I’ve thought about switching back to a stud, just because I feel like they’re easier to get away with. Times are changing, but some jobs still don’t want you to have nose rings (but sometimes studs are ok? which is odd to me).

        Like

  3. Huntress of Diverse Books says:

    I love the nose piercing! It looks so cool!

    I also slowly started wearing what I actually want to wear and it feels so empowering to just go through town wearing whatever the hell it is I love, even if people look at me weirdly. I just got blue, green and brown lipsticks a few days ago, and it’s really been making me happy to wear them, even though I’ve only done so twice! Vintage clothing sounds awesome!

    Like

  4. dystopiancitznblog says:

    I have been trying to postpone posting a new entry in my Through the Shattered Glass series because I would have to talk about being overweight due to depression, but this gave me a gentle push forward. Keep on spreading the body positivity message👊🏽🙌🏽💚

    Like

Leave a Reply

