9 thoughts on “publishing masters: it begins

  1. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    I definitely want you to continue this series. I’d love to learn more about what it means to get a Masters in publishing. Is there a specific publishing focus you are looking to achieve? Or is that just something I made up?

    Do you think you’ll be able to get through these books before school starts? Selling Rights is one which really intrigues me. I never thought about what is involved in the rights for books before!

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      Yay, I definitely will then! I think at the moment I’m going to really focus on the practical skills involved in running a publishing business – whilst I feel like I understand the market and what’s going on, I don’t have much business acumen, which I think I’ll gain on my course. I do think that I want to focus on marketing in publishing, but who knows! I might absolutely love the editing side of the industry – I think the main reasons I’m doing a MA is to gain the practical experience, and exploring what other options may be available to me in the book world.

      I certainly hope so! Selling Rights is the only one that I haven’t started yet. Some of the other books touch upon it though, such as the problems of copyrighting intellectual property. I’d never thought about that before, and it is properly fascinating. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

        Kudos to you and your practical logic, Wendy! So many people jump into masters programs because they don’t want to escape academia. I couldn’t be prouder. 😀 I hope you gain all the practical experience you want. Business acumen is important. And it certainly doesn’t come easy to me– I hope it does to you!

        The whole concept of intellectual property right is just fascinating to me. For example, how on earth did someone allow 50 Shades of Grey to be published, or The Mortal Instruments when both were originally fan fiction? Where does the line stop blurring and the intellectual property actually moves over to another person? I want to learn so much more. If you find any great books on intellectual property and plagiarism, let us know. I’d love to read some of them. Particularly if you trust them; the internet is filled with so much bogus information…

        Like

Leave a Reply

