down the TBR hole

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

download-5.jpg

Why Be Happy When You Could be Normal? by Jeanette Winterson

Aaaah, starting off with a hard one. This is the non-fiction account of Winterson’s childhood (on which she based her classic book Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit). I didn’t like Oranges very much, but I think that’s because I wanted a more personal account, which I might get here. KEEP.

download-6.jpg

Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley

I LOVE DOGS, ESPECIALLY DASCHUNDS. So I think, in the end this is going to have to GO. I am not emotionally prepared to read about even the potential death of a dog.

Storm 7/9: New Writing from Mexico by Joanna Labon

LOL, this one doesn’t even have a cover. I think I picked this up for free. It was written in 1992 though, so…eh. I’m in no hurry to read this. GO.

New Irish Writing: An Anthology by David Marcus

Aaand this one doesn’t either. GO.

122648.jpg

A Woman of No Importance by Oscar Wilde

Eh, this isn’t one of his better-known ones, and to be honest I don’t have a lot of time for classics at the moment. GO.

18545.jpg

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead by Tom Stoppard

I’ve always wanted to read this, and now that I’ve finished my degree I’m kind-of willing to pick up Shakespeare stuff again! KEEP.

41Z1aMO1LDL._SL500_SX265_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Brief Candles by Aldous Huxley

Short stories = yay! But the misogynistic summary = boo. GO.

44839.jpg

Other People by Martin Amis

Hahahaha I do not have time for Martin Amis anymore. GOODBYE.

518LeiPQc0L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams by Sylvia Plath

In contrast, I always have time for Sylvia. I have no idea why I haven’t read this yet. KEEP.

23206098.jpg

Who Cooked Adam Smith’s Dinner? by Katrine Marcal

Funny story about this one – I bought a copy, read half of it and was really enjoying it, and then accidentally left it on the bus. I really must replace it sometime. KEEP.

Well, I have to say, I really enjoyed doing this! My TBR is nearly toppling 450 books, so I think that doing this regularly will really help get it under some kind of control.

7 thoughts on “down the TBR hole

  1. Dina says:

    Oh wow, this is such an interesting approach to your TBR. I’m glad you like Sylvia Plath so much. I like her in theory, but her work is really triggering for me. Classics are kind of tricky to read sometimes for me, too. Hopefully, I can pick up some more Shakespeare over the summer. I am hoping to read more of his stuff.

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      Thanks! Like I said, it is absolutely enormous, so I think I’m going to do this tag every so often to (begin) to bring it under control.
      I totally get why that is – her writing is very raw. I definitely don’t find them easy reads, but I always feel a bit more understood afterwards.
      Awesome! I just finished a Shakespeare module at university so as you can imagine I’m a bit tired of him, but I would definitely recommend 🙂 If you need any help picking plays, let me know!

      Like

  2. Grace (the Changeling) says:

    Oh I’m definitely doing this now. I don’t even remember half the things on my TBR shelf, and they always get eclipsed by the stacks of physical books in my room.
    Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead is one of my favorite plays! It really does help to see it performed or to read it aloud though, since so much of the play hinges on them being mistaken for one another and their identities get switched so much that it becomes a little confusing if you don’t have the actors in front of you. Hope you enjoy it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

