discussion: spoilers

Hello, hello everyone! It is time to tackle one of the big topics of books and book blogging…

 

download-4.jpg

Sorry, I just had to. 

I am one of those people who loves spoilers. This is for quite a few reasons – first of all, I love getting vague spoilers and trying to figure out how these plot points or character developments will actually occur. For example, in the hiatus between seasons 2 and 3 of Sherlock, I was obsessed with set photos and trying to figure out how he survived the fall. My theories were never right, but it was always fun trying to guess. (And make up fanfiction about how he did it….yup, I was a fangirl! Still kinda am.)

Even when I’m given detailed spoilers, I still like them. Especially when it is something that I’ve been looking forward to for a while, because I can almost imagine what the specific scene will be, and it makes me even more excited. Because, once again, what I imagine is almost always entirely different to what happens. I think this is why I sometimes forget to spoiler warnings at the top of my posts, and for that I apologise. If I ever accidentally spoil a book for you in terms of plot or character, please let me know, and I’ll put a warning at the top. However, I do not include trigger warnings in this.

Because, as you are probably are aware of by now, I have anxiety and triggers. In my mind, trigger warnings are not spoilers. To me, they’re like the warnings at the beginning of movies – people don’t get all worked up about ‘spoilers’ because they’ve been told there will be sexual content in a movie. So why should warnings on books be any different? Ultimately, it is an individual’s choice whether to read trigger warnings or not, so people who are anti-trigger warnings because they are ‘spoilers’? Just don’t read them. Surely that’s not so hard?

I’d be really interested in hearing your thoughts! What do you think about spoilers? Can trigger warnings be considered spoilers? Comment below!

11 thoughts on “discussion: spoilers

  1. christine @ the story salve says:

    I’m not necessarily a fan of being spoiled, but I’ve read spoilers before that made me more excited to read the book. I think, like you, I enjoy seeing how the book gets from the beginning to the major plot event, even when I already know what happens. It’s the same reason I enjoy re-reading things: I’m less focused on the what and more focused on how the author gets there – which is enjoyable as a writer.

    I still do NOT understand why people think TWs are spoilers. I just…why would you WANT to be surprised by a rape scene? I’m not even a rape survivor and I still want to be warned about that sort of content. The other thing is that you never know what a reader is going through. People struggling with PTSD, anxiety, depression, etc. aren’t wearing signs on our foreheads like HEY I’M DEALING WITH THIS STUFF DON’T TRIGGER ME. Why would you, as the person not dealing with heavy stuff, be pissed off about warnings for people who are struggling? It just seems pretty selfish to me.

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      Yaaay, I am not alone! And yeah, I absolutely agree about the re-reading thing. I love seeing how a story unfolds after I know what happens. I used to re-read my favourite books constantly, but I haven’t had much time now because of the blog.
      EXACTLY. I realise that not everyone is as loud about the triggers as I am, and everyone deserves to read in safety.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah says:

    I really don’t like spoilers at all. I will definitely not read a review if I know there’s going to be a spoiler in it! And I agree that trigger warnings don’t count as spoilers. Sure, you know there’s going to be a specific kind of content, but you don’t know anything else about it and, like you said, you can always just not read them.

    Like

  3. The Book Pandas says:

    I personally don’t like spoilers for books, although I occasionally do read them for tv shows. However, trigger warnings are not spoilers, and they definitely should be there for anything that could be sensitive for someone.

    Like

  4. Shouni says:

    I think I’m the opposite of you when it come to spoilers. I really hate them. If there’s a book I haven’t read but am planning on it, I try to avoid as many reviews as possible (even if said reviews are spoiler free). I like not knowing what’s going to happen because it increases my excitement of what’s coming next.

    I don’t know why people think Trigger Warnings are considered spoilers. And it really bothers me that some people are getting worked up over it. Like you said, if someone doesn’t want trigger warnings, they can just skip them. It’s not that hard.

    Like

  5. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Spoilers and I don’t mix well. I am that annoying consumer of media who can figure out how it all ends really early on. I think that’s one reason I’m not into thrillers; I figure it out early and I get bored. The fewer spoilers I have the more I enjoy novels, in most cases.

    As far as Trigger Warnings, I don’t consider them spoilers. In fact, I appreciate them. For example, I was given a trigger warning for The Kite Runner about sexual abuse of children. I can read that, and while it is uncomfortable and terrible to read about, I can still read it. I was NOT given a suicide trigger warning, and that’s one I need. They are trigger warnings for a reason. I just… I had to put the book down for a while before I could finish it. Trigger warnings are so important to prep me mentally for my enjoyment of the novel. Bring. Them. On.

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      I love it when I get a bunch of notifications from you! Hi! It’s so interesting how people consume media, imo. I find it really easy to turn off my brain for thrillers and mysteries. (I almost NEVER guess the murderer, for some reason!)

      Oh dear, I’m sorry that no one warned you. I’m always afraid when I put trigger warnings in case I miss important ones. If I ever do, please let me know 🙂 But yeah, I absolutely agree. Even if I’m not necessarily going to be triggered, I still appreciate them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

