asian lit bingo

#AsianLitBingo is a very exciting project created by Shenwei at READING (AS)(I)AM (AM)ERICA. Check out the master post to read the guidelines and find the link-ups.

asianlitbingo.png

Here is my (tentative) TBR:

LGBT+ Asian MC: Seven Tears at High Tide by CB Lee

West Asian MC: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Asian Muslim MC: Stained by Abda Khan

Religious Asian MC: I don’t know! Help me out! I’ve always wanted to learn more about Hinduism and Buddhism in particular, but I’m feeling a little bit lost in what book to pick.

Poor or Working Class Asian MC: Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok

I’ve had copies of some of these books for quite a while now, so I’m glad that this is finally going to get me to read them! I’ve been planning to read more Asian literature this year, and this bingo challenge will make me get my ass in gear. If I have time (LOL) I’ve also got a couple other books which fit other categories, too!

20 thoughts on “asian lit bingo

  1. Huntress of Diverse Books says:

    Nice choices, we already talked a bit about it. I’ve got 2 books on my TBR that have something to do with Buddhism.

    In the Shadow of the Banyan Tree – Vaddey Ratner has a Buddhist MC and takes place in Cambodia.

    The Hungry Ghosts – Shyam Selvadurai has something to do with Buddhism according to the blurb and the MC is a homosexual biracial man.

    I wasn’t a fan of The Wrath and the Dawn because of the romanticisation of the toxic relationship. If you want to, you can look at my review -> https://huntressofdiversebooks.wordpress.com/2017/02/18/the-wrath-and-the-dawn-renee-ahdieh/ after you read the book. I’ve linked to other reviewers who thought similarly about it.

    Like

  2. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    Hi Wendy!
    I’m so happy that you’re joining us for the challenge!! I especially love that you chose Seven Tears at Hide Tide as one of your choices!! AHHHH I love that book so much. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. ❤

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      Ofc!! I love a bingo! And OMG yes I literally read it an afternoon, I have no idea why it took me so long to read it, as I loved Not Your Sidekick SO much! Seriously I adore CB Lee like no one else ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

