diversity spotlight thursday

Created by Aimal, you can check out the rules here. Basically, every week you list

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

This week, I am focusing on picture books! I’ve been thinking about expanding my reading, and what better way than with picture books? (I’m also including graphic novels in this.)

read1

I’ll be honest, I don’t tend to read much MG fiction or graphic novels. (Hence why I want to change that!) But as soon as I thought of this particular post, El Deafo by Cece Bell sprung to mind. I read this for the Diversity December Bingo, and I’ve been thinking about it since then.

eldeafocover.jpg

Check out my review here!

tbr1

Rad American Women A-Z by Kate Schatz. This looks fantastic – basically, it is an A-Z where each letter has a corresponding ‘radical’ woman featured! There are artists and scientists and suffragettes. For example, ‘P is for Patti’ Smith and ‘X is for the women whose names we don’t know’. I wish I’d had introductory feminist texts like this when I was younger. I can’t wait for my friends to have kids so I can give them books just like this.

o-RAD-WOMEN-facebook-1.jpg

coming-soon1

The Youngest Marcher: The Story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a Young Civil Rights Activist by Cynthia Levinson. This is the story of the youngest marcher to be arrested in the 1963 protest in Birmingham, Alabama. I’d never heard of her, and I like the idea of encouraging the next generation to be politically active. Even the smallest people have the power to change the world, after all.

the-youngest-marcher-9781481400701_hr.jpg

This book is being released on January 17th. A review can be found here.

Have you read any of these books, or ones like them? Let me know!

11 thoughts on “diversity spotlight thursday

  1. Bina says:

    This spotlight thing is so cool, hard in my tbr though 😂 I haven’t read any of these, but Marcher sounds fantastic! This focus in picture books is great. I really enjoy MG lit and sequential art, but those are even more difficult for me to get at over here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    Ahhh these books sound delightful!
    And oh my gosh, El Deafo sounds amazing?? I NEED TO READ IT? ;_; I’ve been recently exposed to MG (via Flying Lessons and Other Stories) so I really want to read more MG books. There’s something so lovely and soft and profound about them. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

