2017 reading goals

Read 150 books. 

I read over 120 books in the months of April – December, so I think this is doable! I’m also going to try and not count too many books I read for university, because they don’t really fit into my diverse theme. However, if the numbers start looking a bit squiffy, I might just have to include them.

Try more genres!

I have loved re-discovering SFF in 2016. I also read a lot more YA than I usually do, and have enjoyed every single second of it. This year I want to read things that I never would normally pick up.

This also includes things such as poetry, plays, comics, and non-fiction.

Read more ARCs.

I loved participating in the Interlude Press blog tours in 2016, so I’m going to try and go a little bit further out of my comfort zone and request ARCs from publishers. I know this is pretty standard for some bloggers, but I always feel like I should be financially supporting the authors, too! Unfortunately, student budgets aren’t always the best for that.

Keep track of what I read. 

I’ve seen a couple different spreadsheets for keeping track of books, their genres, and whether the authors are #ownvoices, and I love the idea of being able to break all the numbers down at the end of each month/year! Candid Ceillie has a fantastic one that I may just adopt 🙂

Complete the 2017 Diversity Bingo. 

Originally I wanted to do it in rows, but I think for at least January I’m going to read my Christmas books and see what squares I can fill! This is definitely my main goal for this year, and I just can’t wait to start.

czmlbaeusaa6hub.jpg

Do you have any blogging or reading goals? Let me know, I might be inspired to try and achieve some more!

 

19 thoughts on “2017 reading goals

  1. Brendon says:

    Fantastic list of goals. Good luck on achieving them this year! Particularly the 150 books!! I do not know how you all find time – I think my highest was 91 books in a year. I look forward to your reviews and posts in 2017! Woohoo! Cheers 🙂

    Like

  2. Grab the Lapels says:

    Cloud 9 by Caryl Churchill is a great play in which gender is fluid in an effort to create satire. On stage, the first and second acts have the same characters, but the actors swap roles in Act II, typically to someone you wouldn’t think: the racist to the servant, the man to the woman, etc.

    Also, I think you should keep reviewing books you read for college because if they are lacking diversity, you can talk about it and pull apart why for your readers. I was trying to make this point on Twitter the other day (and possibly failing).

    Like

  3. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Good luck with all your goals, Wendy! I think it’s totally okay to count your Uni books towards your reading total if you’d like. They are still pages turned and worlds visited! 🙂 My goal is to read 110 books this year. I had a goal of 101 last year and blew past it, but I don’t want to stress myself out too much.

    I look forward to following your diversity bingo journey! I am a bit intimidated by it, but I hope watching my fellow bloggers succeed throughout the year will push me to join in the future. Good luck with all your goals!

    Like

Leave a Reply

