diverse 8 tag

This is a tag that has been created by Claribel Ortega, whose original entry can be found here:

(Well, it is going to be 7, because I’m not going to answer the writing question. I am most definitely not a creative writer!)

Why is diversity important to you?

I never saw myself in the books that I read when I was younger. A bisexual, mentally ill feminist from a small t0wn? I thought there was no way that any part of me could be represented in fiction!

It was only when I heard, by some weird accident, of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, that I realised that maybe this wasn’t true.

What was the last diverse title you read?

I’m currently reading Lucia Berlin’s Manual for Cleaning Women. I’m counting this as diverse because it is a collection of short stories that focus on working-class women, especially single mothers.

Next I’m planning to read Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan.

What are some of your favourite diverse titles?

Oh god!

I could go on and on, but I won’t.

If you could choose one movie or TV show with diverse representation to become a book series what would it be?

Ooh, this is a difficult one. I read so much that I don’t really have time to watch stuff! But I think that maybe Pride would make a good novel.

Is there a particular identity or experience you wished was touched on more in fiction?

I think that a lot of different identities are discussed in fiction – it’s just that they’re not talked about as much in the book blogger community. The more important question, I think, is what identity or experience I’m going to actively try and read more about.

In 2017 I’m going to try and read a lot more about neurodiversity, as well as more intersectional experiences, such as being a queer PoC.

Do you think diversity is important in book blogging?

Of course!

What are some of your favourite blogs and resources about diversity?

Naz at Read Diverse Books is obviously #1, because he is amazing and was probably the first Diverse Book Blogger that I followed when I started this blog up in March.

Bina at WOC Reads because she is one of the kindest bloggers I have the privilege of knowing. Her focus on women of colour is also extremely important – and she has some of the best recommendations!

Brendon at Gaming for Justice because I love that his blog isn’t just books, but also games! I never thought about the politics that are often behind games, but his blog has opened my eyes. In November he also focused on Native Hawaiian Own Voices, and allowed me to guest post!

Silicon at Write Code Do Science because she was also a huge part of Diverse Detectives, a campaign in October that I absolutely loved. I don’t often comment on her blog, because for some reason blogspot doesn’t like me, but her Twitter is a goldmine of information.

Ceillie at Candid Ceillie because she is consistently positive, and her reviews are so in-depth. (Also, can we talk about her blog layout? I have so much blog envy!)

And finally, Jackie at Death by Tsundoku because her comments always light up my day. She is one of the most consistent and wonderful bloggers I know.

Well, that’s it for me for a couple of days – I’m going to be celebrating Christmas HARD. Happy Holidays everyone xx

2 thoughts on “diverse 8 tag

  1. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Oh, Wendy! Thank you soooo much. I am completely honored. I appreciate you.
    I love short tags like this which really highlight important things. I will definitely be adding this to my to-be-completed tag listing. I’ll have to think long and hard about some of these answers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

