diverse december: PoC superheroes

We’re coming close to bingo! Today’s post is Rachel Davidson Leigh’s Hold, which is my choice for the PoC superheroes space! (Although it could have also been used for the LGBT+ in SFF, and PoC/Interracial M/M! I love how intersectional this book is.)

Luke can stop time. But right now, that’s the least of his worries. His sister has just died after a long stay in hospice care, he’s in love with his best friend (who hasn’t seemed to notice) and there’s a new kid at school, Eddie Sankawulo, who is mysteriously turning up everywhere…

This was another book that had me jumping up and down and squealing aloud. As I mentioned above, the representation is great. Luke is South Asian, Eddie is Ghanian and bisexual, and Luke’s best friend is aro-ace. And these words are actually said ON THE PAGE! Although Davidson Leigh’s world is full of realism (Eddie and Luke both face racist comments on a daily basis), her depiction of LGBT+ relationships was so positive. Eddie, as well as Luke and his friends, are so understanding and respectful and knowledgeable about LGBT+ issues and terms. Because of this, Hold came really alive for me. They felt like real teenagers who had taught themselves about LGBT+ issues, just like I did.

There isn’t much description about why or how Luke has come to acquire the power to stop time – and I know some readers will be quite irritated with that. However, I was much more interested in the way that Luke uses his powers, as well as his friendships and relationships. For example, Luke could stop time and move things – and people. However (and this is the first time I’ve ever seen this in fiction) he doesn’t, because he is aware of the creepiness and non-consensual nature of touching someone without their consent. The one time he touches someone whilst stopping time, it is done with her express permission, and is respectful, to boot.

If I’m honest, I was more interested in these aspects than the plot itself. It was okay – a little bit jumbled near the end of the novel – but I couldn’t bring myself to care. I just wanted to hang out with these characters, and see where life took them next.

(Finally, I’d be interested in your thoughts – I usually link to amazon, but I thought it might be more useful to link to goodreads. Do you have a preference?)

9 thoughts on “diverse december: PoC superheroes

  1. Liam @ Hey Ashers! says:

    Sorry to hear the plot wasn’t especially well crafted, but everything else sounds amazing. This is the kind of diversity I need in my life. (Three cheers for non-straight sexualities being explicitly named in the text!) I hadn’t heard of this one before, so I’m glad you reviewed it! =)

    I prefer links to Goodreads, personally. My path to acquiring a book is typically blog review >> Goodreads reviews >> Goodreads TBR list >> library. Only if I loved a book, or it’s a sequel or author I know I’ll love, do I actually buy a copy.

    Like

  2. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    Thank you for posting this! I haven’t heard of this book, and it is definitely a new one to add to my TBR. I haven’t read anything lately which reflects non-straight sexualities in a clear and open manner. I need more of this in my life. Do you have other suggestions which highlight this?
    I add links to both Goodreads and Amazon on my blog. I like Goodreads links to ensure I add a book to my TBR easily and quickly. I like Amazon because if a book sounds really interesting, and it’s cheap, I will buy it ASAP. Then I am more likely to read it. So, that probably doesn’t help…

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      Fantastic! Um, the only other book that I’ve read this year that explicitly uses the word bisexual on the page is C.B. Lee’s Not Your Sidekick – I’m definitely on the look-out for more books that do this!
      Actually, that’s very helpful! I’m such an idiot, I didn’t even consider putting both links *facepalm*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

