christmas book collection

I’m trying not to let my love of Christmas spread onto the blog too much. I realise that a lot of people don’t celebrate, and that it is hugely pushed into people’s faces throughout the months of November and December.

However. It is my family’s Christmas tradition that every year, we buy a new Christmas book. By now we’ve got quite an extensive collection, but I wanted to share some of my favourites with you.

xkcurvgc

2011: The Stupidest Angel – Christopher Moore

Twas the night (okay, more like the week) before Christmas and little Joshua Barker is in desperate need of a Christmas miracle. Josh is sure he saw Santa take a shovel to the head and now the seven year old has only one prayer: Please Santa, come back from the dead!

But coming to Earth, seeking a small child whose wish needs granting, is none other than Archangel Raziel. Unfortunately, he’s not sporting the brightest halo in the bunch and before you can say ‘Kris Kringle,’ he’s botched his sacred mission and sent the residents of Pine Cove headlong into Christmas chaos, culminating in the most hilarious and horrifying holiday party the town has ever seen.

2005: The Night Before Christmas – Clement C. Moore

I think this was one of the first ones that we bought – and no surprise there! It is a classic, after all.

9dmqmopp

2012: Dickens at Christmas – Charles Dickens

This is a beautiful Vintage Classics edition that includes all of Dickens’ Christmas stories. It obviously has A Christmas Carol, but also festive stories from his periodicals, including a section from The Pickwick Papers.

2009: Tales of the Elves: Icelandic Folktales for Children – Anna Kristin Asbjornsdottir

Although not necessarily a Christmas book, this book of children’s fairy tales has all the trappings of one! It includes tales of strangelings, snows, and of course, elves, and is illustrated with charming, colourful folk images. Unfortunately I couldn’t find a copy for sale online – however I have found a blog that has uploaded some of the illustrations.

xy1iwtwa

2016: Christmas Days – Jeanette Winterson

There are ghosts here and jovial spirits. Chances at love and tricks with time.

There is frost and icicles, mistletoe and sledges. There’s a cat and a dog and a solid silver frog. There’s a Christmas cracker with a surprising gift inside.

There’s a haunted house and a SnowMama. There are Yuletides and holly wreaths. Three Kings. And a merry little Christmas time.

And for the icing on the Christmas cake, there are twelve festive recipes from Yuletides past and present. Red cabbage, gravlax, turkey biryani, sherry trifle, Mrs Winterson’s mince pies and more.

I’ve not read this one yet – I’m probably going to wait until Christmas Eve (or Christmas Eve Eve!) and read it whilst eating mince pies and getting steadily pissed on Baileys.

hzuhc-oe

(Jasper was a great help whilst taking pictures for this post!)

 

8 thoughts on “christmas book collection

  1. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    Wow, that’s beautiful! My family and I aren’t big on Christmas (we do exchange gifts though, and I like buying gifts for my friends), but this tradition sounds so lovely. My family aren’t big readers, but I think this is something I’d love to do one day when I am older and have my own family?

    AND OMG YOUR DOG IS SO CUTE. ❤

    Like

  2. Bina says:

    Ooooh love the Winterson edition, so pretty!! Oh I’m all yay Christmas hopefully not too much in everyone’s face. My Christmas read is the hilarious The Best Christmas Pageant Ever, we used to have a cat like the Herdmanns 😀

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      I have! I thought it was about time to try and make myself look a little more put-together as a blogger! (People seem to be convinced so far!)
      The Iceland tales book is wonderful – like I said, I don’t know how easy it will be to get it outside of Iceland, but the illustrations alone are worth the effort. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

