books i want to read in 2017

I know that this is a bit early, but my reading is going to be fairly scheduled this December, what with the Diversity December Bingo. And I want to hold myself accountable – some of these are books that have been on my TBR for years, and I really need to get ’round to them.

  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the UniverseΒ – this was the first LGBT+ book that I ever heard of, and tried to get my hands on. And still, years later, I haven’t read it. I’m almost scared to, weirdly! The fact that an LGBT+ book even existed meant so much to me that it might not live up to my expectations. However, I amΒ going to read this in 2017.
  • The Life and Death of Sophie Stark – as you may have seen on my Twitter, I’ve decided that I want to make 2017 a year of bisexual protagonists. The premise of this book (the observation of Sophie Stark through the eyes of 6 different characters) really interested me, and the idea that this is a more diverse Jennifer Egan rather tickled my fancy!
  • Ramona BlueΒ – on the bisexual note, I’d also like to read this hotly contested book that is being published next year. The basic premise is that the protagonist, Ramona, originally comes out as a lesbian, but then realises she is bisexual. There’s been a lot of discussion about whether this is a lesphobic depiction, or if this is another aspect of the bisexual experience. I’d like to see for myself, as a bisexual person.
  • Anything by Octavia Butler – I read Kindred this year and absolutely adored it. I’m definitely going to try and read a lot more of Butler’s work, because I’m loving the fact that I’m getting back into SFF after many years of thinking there wasn’t anything in the genre for me.
  • MORE DIVERSE BOOKS. I’ve read a few books with trans characters this year – but not enough. A few books with indigenous characters – but I know there is much more to learn. A few books with disabled characters – but there are so many more out there, just waiting to be read.

(Also this is the first time I’ve used a header that I’ve designed – please leave your thoughts!)

13 thoughts on “books i want to read in 2017

  1. Liam @ Hey Ashers! says:

    Love the new header! It has personality; I like that. =)

    I’ll be looking forward to hearing about the (fabulous-looking) books you’ve selected. Heck yes to bi protagonists, Butler, and more diversity in general. Hope it’s a great year for you!

    Like

  2. Brendon says:

    Oh my goodness… I can’t believe it is almost 2017… I need to start looking at my list for reading in 2017!! I agree with you on anything Butler – I just picked up Octavia’s Brood -> scifi stories from social justice movements. I am excited to read that in 2017!

    Like

  3. MyBookJacket says:

    Oh yes about Octavia Butler. I haven’t read anything by her. Don’t expect much from Aristotle and Dante if you’re like me. I DNFed it (of course I can never relate to books that have no female main characters in them so it could just be that).

    Like

  4. karen blue says:

    All of these books sound really interesting. I especially like the sound of Ramona Blue, I think this will be a hotly discussed book. I can’t wait to see how the author handles that.
    I like the graphic too btw. Your whole blog has a great look.

    Like

Leave a Reply

