feminist fight club review

Feminist Fight Club: An Office Survival Manual. I mean, with a title like that, I had to buy it.

As someone who is (hopefully) about to enter the working world, I found this an immensely helpful guide to how to try and deal with mansplaining, imposter syndrome, and how to carry myself ‘with the confidence of a mediocre white man’. YES PLEASE.

What I liked the most is that this book was immensely practical. It breaks down the many different ways that men (consciously or not) attempt to belittle women, as well as the various ways women self-sabotage themselves in their attempts to straddle the balance between ‘cold’ or ‘too nice’. Bennett then usually gives personal examples, and, best of all, the advice she has been given to try and overcome these issues. I often find feminist texts to be quite theoretical, and this was such a refreshing change.

It is also funny as hell. Β Bennett has a real talent in that she can talk about some of the most pertinent issues in a woman’s life – and make them absolutely hilarious.I read this on the train to London the other day, and I couldn’t stop cackling aloud. I could feel the white men around me cringe. It was brilliant.

I loved the art that was peppered throughout the book. The comic, sketchy style really fitted the tone of the book, in my opinion. Here’s some of my favourite sections:

ctcxzqdxgaanamnThis book isn’t perfect – in my opinion, it could have been improved by a more general awareness of trans women, as well as maybe a specific section on intersectional feminism. However, I did like the fact that it had a specific section aimed at men. I sent that section to my boyfriend, who found it really helpful! It was really nuanced in its explanation of what to do and not do, which he appreciated. And, like the rest of the book, this section was very practical.

I think I read this at the exact perfect time in my life. I’ve never had to deal with institutionalised sexism before, really, having gone to an all-girls high school, and an immensely liberal university. I was nervous about entering the working world. But now? I’m ready to kick ass.

13 thoughts on “feminist fight club review

  1. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku says:

    WONDERFUL review! This book has been on my TBR for a long time now. I have seriously considered getting a copy for everyone on my team and hiding the cover with a sweet brown paper bag book jacket. Institutionalized sexism is really challenging, particularly in the corporate world. It’s hard to see it since everyone is so engrained in the culture already. We need to actively fight what people assume is just “how it is”. I hope more books like this will be published in the future.
    Good luck entering the working world! With this skill set, you’ll be awesome.

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ It was a great read – I think even after many years of working in the corporate world, it would make many women look at the behaviours they put up with/unconsciously adopt. You should definitely get it for your team – though without the brown covers! I had an amazing time reading this in public. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Transhaan says:

    I saw this book and was also VERY intrigued by the title. I have to say, after reading your review, this sounds soo practical. The office is definitely a complex world where every detail can send the wrong signal. The illustrations are hilarious too. It sounds like a nice little read. Great review! πŸ™‚

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • whatthelog says:

      It is just jam-packed with helpful tips! I would definitely give it a read. πŸ™‚
      I loved the illustrations too – sometimes topics like this can get a little too depressing and they helped lift the tone.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Grab the Lapels says:

    I could have used this book the other day. A man, whom I do not know as I have not met him officially, who is a few cubicles down from me loves to rock out to music videos on YouTube…which he plays through his computer speakers directly into the office. Since it’s an open office, I do not expect silence, but the speakers that come in computers are tiny and shrill. I’ve been listening to this ALL SEMESTER. I finally went over and politely asked if he had headphones, and he proceeded to tell me that he has to hear me doing my “little meetings” (I’m a professor doing office hours) and that he doesn’t want to hear my voice and that I should get a door (we’re all in cubicles, soo….).

    Like

  4. Meghan Capps says:

    I will have to add this one to my list. It sounds like you found it at a great moment in your life- it’s funny how we find books just at the time we need them most. Good luck with entering the working world!

    Like

Leave a Reply

