bookish pet peeves

Everyone has them. These are just a few of mine.

  • FIRST PERSON PRESENT TENSE

I know this is a big thing in YA at the moment. And I cannot stand it. I don’t tend to like first-person anyway – in my opinion, it has to be a very distinct voice in order to be written that way – and to combine that with present tense? WHY GOD, WHY? To me, it feels jarring and less realistic, rather than more. I know some people like it, but I just can’t do it.

  • Similar-sounding names

I’m sorry, but even in families, names do not have to start with the same letter. The worst offender I can think of is 100 Years of Solitude. Great book, I really enjoyed it – but there are about three different names in this generations-long saga. I could not tell who was who. This was probably the point, but it was too irritating for me to appreciate the idea.

  • Prologues

Especially when they’re dreams or prophecies. Surely having a cracker of an opening line/page is a better way to start a novel?

  • White people

THEY NEED TO STOP. (Especially cishet abled white people.) Seriously, since devoting myself to diverse book blogging, I cannot read literary fiction to save my life. I cannot bring myself to care about the whining of privileged twats who just can’t stand the pressure of being so rich/talented/whatever. Sit down, check your privilege, and write something else. PLEASE.

  • Spelling errors

How do these happen?! Even in self-published works, surely that would be the first thing you’d check. This is one of the reasons why I don’t like Stephanie Meyer – her works are absolutely peppered with mis-spellings. This is a simple editing job, and it grinds my gears.

I’m going to stop there so I don’t get too grumpy! Do you have any pet peeves about publications?

16 thoughts on “bookish pet peeves

  1. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    hahaha can’t believe you just said “white people” as a pet peeve?! That’s a bit much! I mean that’s really not in the same league as spelling mistakes 😉 Seriously though- that made jaw drop a little- are you having a joke?

    Like

  2. Read Diverse Books says:

    lol! I love this post. Especially the bit about white people 😛 made me giggle.
    I read lots of literary fiction, but it’s by diverse authors, of course!

    I’ve only read one Stephenie Meyer book, but it’s hard to believe that such a high profile author has so many misspellings. She and her team need to get it together!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

