fantastic beasts book tag

IT COMES OUT TODAAAAY! Let’s celebrate!

(This is shamelessly stolen from Through the Book Portal and Katherine Barka.)

Unicorn: A unicorn is a being of pure magic. Choose a book with your favourite magical system. 

akatawitch

I loved the world-building in this. Nnedi Okorafor is so aware of what she is doing and the prejudices that are built into every system. This book is just majestic.

Dragon: Choose a book that unexpectedly set you on fire.

imgres

Refugee Tales is a collection of real-life narratives told to award-winning writers. I defy you to read this book and not come out of it burning to do more for the refugees of the world.

Vampire: A book that sucked you in – your favourite book world. 

labyrinth-lost-final-cover_wide-10a078e270ecba787129ccab8837697f01c370d8.jpg

A recent read, I know, but a very very good one! (Read my review of Labyrinth Lost here).

Elf: Long-living creature – your favourite book series. 

imgres-1

I don’t tend to read series, if I’m honest. However, I am very much looking forward to reading the Earthseed series by Octavia Butler.

Siren: Appealing and beautiful – choose a book with a beautiful cover.

u34+1F!EVWH7ngw7NLVXIcKIKW2pmYA+Gl!w8rbMsYH!BRIAG5OUet9tcq9F2XjffXkZsjELHH1dotzfe59AzyGvF052d2UykJBErmXhkayWsW1OYzkgsRAdZgmVYczu.png

On my TBR! I love the font, the colours, and the subtle sexiness. (And its a F/F romance. What more could I ask for?!)

Sphinx: This creature loves telling riddles – choose a book you found confusing. 

9780099760115

Don’t get me wrong, I love Beloved. (Review here). But WTF is going on?!

Werewolf: This creature changes a lot – choose a cover change you loved/hated the most. 

Woolf-5.jpg

I don’t tend to care much about covers. I’m not one of those bloggers who has to obsessively get the same cover/version so a series fits nicely on their bookshelves. HOWEVER I have to say that the new Virginia Woolf series by Vintage Classics is just stunning.

If you want to do this tag, consider yourself tagged!

(A final note: please no spoilers, everyone who gets to see Fantastic Beasts today! I’m going tomorrow!)

5 thoughts on “fantastic beasts book tag

  1. Shouni says:

    I’m so glad you did this tag!! 🙂 Refugee Tales sounds like an interesting read. Is it just stories of refugees written by several different authors? I hear so much about Labyrinth Lost, I need to read it!

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      Thanks, it is a fantastic tag!
      Its stories of everyone at all impacted by the current refugee crisis – for example, it has the story of the immigration officer and a truck driver from Calais, as well as stories of refugees. It is a fantastic read.

      And yes yes yes!! Labyrinth Lost is wonderful, I wish I’d read it a lot sooner. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

