diversity spotlight thursday

Yep, I’m doing it again!

Created by Aimal, you can check out the rules here. Basically, every week you list

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

This week I have an extra focus: Non-fiction November. Whilst I’m not strictly doing it (I have way too much fiction to read right now), I hope that it might give you some ideas about what to read next!

read1

45882.jpg

Borderlands/La Frontera by Gloria Anzaldua is a glorious rumination on what it means to be on the border. In Anzaldua’s case, the border can mean multiple things – the border between Mexico and North America, between languages, and between sexualities. An unabashed Chicana lesbian, Anzaldua often uses the image of the snake, or Coatlalopeuh, to celebrate femininity and the crossing of borders.

tbr1

51wsueqzcml-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Black and British: A Forgotten History is a companion book to the TV show on BBC 2 of the same name. David Olusoga goes back to Roman Britain to track black British economic and cultural history. He passes through the Tudors to the battle of Trafalgar to the First World War, examining historical documents and eyewitness accounts on the way. I’m definitely going to catch up on the TV show, but I think that this would be a fascinating addition (especially with its referencing!)

coming-soon1

y450-293.png

Everyone knows Roxane Gay. What didn’t know was that she has a new book of essays coming out in 2017! Hunger looks like a powerful examination of her relationship with food and body-image.

I ate and ate and ate in the hopes that if I made myself big, my body would be safe. I buried the girl I was because she ran into all kinds of trouble. I tried to erase every memory of her, but she is still there, somewhere. . . . I was trapped in my body, one that I barely recognized or understood, but at least I was safe.

My first Diversity Spotlight Thursday can be found here.

9 thoughts on “diversity spotlight thursday

  1. Diana says:

    I like the sound of the second book on Black and British due to the historical bit. All three books sound great though so I will definitely check them out. Thanks for the recommendations. Great post.

    Like

  2. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    Wow, Borderlands sounds intense – but it also sounds like something I’d love to read. Thanks for the recommendation!
    AHH I love Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist! I can’t wait to read Hunger and her other new book, Difficult Women. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

