diversity spotlight thursday

This is a new meme that I found a couple weeks back – and well. It just screams my name!

Created by Aimal, you can check out the rules here. Basically, every week you list

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

Let’s go!

read1

imgres-9

This might be a little bit cheeky, seeing as I am currently reading The Sellout, but hey! It counts. I’m sure you’ve all heard of this, as it won the 2016 Man Booker Prize. I have to say, I am thoroughly enjoying it. Bitingly funny, Beatty holds nothing back in his examination of modern black America. Although I only read one other Man Booker nominee (Hot Milk), I 100% understand why this won.

tbr1

41iyWi3BO-L._SX316_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Do feminist books count as diverse books? From my understanding, Girls Will Be Girls talks quite a lot about gender identity and the ridiculousness of gender binaries, so I thought it might be worth including. Hopefully it will be an intersectional feminist text anyway (otherwise, in my mind, it isn’t really a feminist text at all.) Anyway, this looks like an interesting read that tackles important subjects in an amusing light.

coming-soon1

imgres-12

Ok, so I haven’t strictly speaking read Adam Silvera’s first book (More Happy Than Not). However it is firmly on my Christmas list, even though I know it will break me. To me, though, this seems even better. A YA novel that not only has gay main characters, but also one with OCD – I mean, what more could I ask for? History is All You Left Me will be released in January, 2017.

I might make this a weekly tag – what do you think?

14 thoughts on “diversity spotlight thursday

  1. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    Yay! I’m so happy you’re participating too, Wendy. These are great choices, and I haven’t read the first two.
    I absolutely, whole-heartedly recommend More Happy Than Not! (I feel like I’ve said this to you before? I’m sorry if I have; it’s one of my I’LL-SCREECH-ABOUT-IT-TIL-EVERYONE-READS-IT sort of books.) It’s a wonderful story and so real too. AND it has a diversity of narratives!

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      Aw, thank you!! I would definitely recommend The Sellout – it holds nothing back and that’s exactly what we need rn.

      Haha no need to apologise – I’m loving the enthusiasm! And I will read it at some point – hopefully over my Christmas break I’ll get some time. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

