a day in the life of a bookseller

9:00 AM: Take a deep breath. Fingers are ready. Books are ready. I AM READY.

9:02 AM: Realise that I hadn’t flipped the sign to OPEN. Oops.

10:58 AM: Have a 20 minute conversation about Brian Fuller’s eligibility to direct American Gods. Shout “VAGINA MONSTER” just a bit too loudly.

11:24 AM: Get distracted when re-stocking the gender and feminisms section. Put approximately 523580329523 books aside for myself.

11:59 AM: Prepare to go to lunch. Look around in dismay as customers swarm.

12:20 PM:    Customer: “Can I have this for free?”

Me: “No.”

12:47 PM:     Customer: “You have too many books.”

Me: “….sorry?!”

1:13 PM:        Me: “Have you found everything you need?”

Customer: “No.”

Me: “Oh dear, can I help at all?”

Customer: “NO.”

2:45 PM: Stomach audibly growls. Customer looks affronted.

2:58 PM:      Customer: “Recommend me a book!”

Me: …. 😀

3:00 PM: LUNCH FINALLY!

4:01 PM: Return to a store in chaos.

4:02 PM: Re-stock.

4:34 PM: Re-stock.

4:35 PM:       Customer: “This is a bit like Tetris, isn’t it?”

Me: “Shhh, I’m trying to go through the alphabet!”

4:48 PM: Re-stock.

4:59 PM: A customer comes in with a list of 70 books they need by tomorrow.

5:00 PM: Abandon co-workers to demon customer. Clock off.

5:01 PM: Ready to do it again tomorrow!

12 thoughts on “a day in the life of a bookseller

  1. Brendon says:

    Hah I love this post! “Put approximately 523580329523 books aside for myself.” That would be me every single day no doubt if I worked in a bookstore. Oh, it is also one of my goals to do so at some point!

    Like

  2. Bina says:

    Ahahaha oh I feel for booksellers!!! But so funny to read for the rest of us! Usually people think I’m a salesperson in the store, but maybe it’s the organizing books and carrying a pile of books thing😁🙈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

