the devotion of suspect x review

Excitingly, this is my first #DiverseDetectives review! Let’s hop to it!

The Devotion of Suspect X is a novel by Keigo Higashino, and translated from Japanese by Alexander O. Smith.It is the third in the Detective Galileo series, however, I couldn’t find the first two translated into English. That didn’t stop me from understanding or enjoying it, however – the basic premise is that a physics professor helps the police out with their more baffling mysteries. I actually found this to be one of the more interesting aspects of the novel. Professor Yukawa was fairly philosophical, and made a lot of fascinating points about mathematics, physics, and the nature of experimentation. I thought it would be a fairly standard police procedural novel, but because of this, it went a lot further than I expected.

The plot was pretty good – I thought I had it figured out, but happily, there was a great twist at the end. It really makes you question your assumptions, and I liked that a lot! I won’t say anything more! (If you’ve read this, please let me know if you guessed the ending.) I’ll admit, I got a little confused in the middle, but I think that was just me being a muppet and forgetting who some of the characters were.

This really piqued my interest in a lot of different areas, actually. I’ve just started taking a crime literature class, and in it we discussed whether this genre of literature has anything in particular to say about different societies and cultures. I’d love to to a detailed analysis about the difference between police procedurals like this, set in Japan, versus those set in Nordic countries, for example. Also – I desperately need to read more diverse detectives. This was a pretty awesome crime novel that I never would have discovered if not for this challenge. I will almost certainly be reading Higashino’s other novels that have been translated into English.

Are you reading anything for #diversedetectives? Give me a shout!

8 thoughts on “the devotion of suspect x review

  1. Brendon says:

    That is so weird that this one (3rd in the series) is the only one that is translated into English! It sounds like a solid mystery and I am finding myself really loving the literature coming out of Japan! Yay #DiverseDetectives!

    Like

  2. Bina says:

    Yay🙌🎉 Well done you! I’ve heard of this book but it’s so weird to start with book 3 in a series, oh well it sounds too good to give it a miss. Maybe the successful means they have or will translate the rest? I really hope so. Glad you enjoyed your first diverse detective book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

