national poetry day

Hello and welcome to National Poetry Day!

Hopefully this is a day full of celebration and discovery of new poets! You can download the free ebook Messages: A National Poetry Day book here. I’ve only had a brief skim through it so far, but I’m pretty impressed with it.

In celebration, I have decided to review two of my more recent poetry purchases:

The Immigration Handbook by Caroline Smith, published by Seren Books

9781781723210.jpg

This is a very interesting anthology that explores what it means to be British or American immigrants. Bureaucracy, disappointment and hope are ever-present. I thought that it could have been a bit more experimental – there were a couple pages that made poetry out of documentation and emails. I would’ve liked to see a little more like this.

I think that this could be an interesting book to read alongside Refugee Tales (review here) and The Good Immigrant (which I haven’t read yet). I like the idea of reading different genres of literature that focus on similar topics, anyway.

Bird Sisters by Julia Webb, published by Nine Arches Press

f40eb5af6c-Bird Sisters cover.jpg

This uses fairy tales and the family to explore otherness and what it means to be human. I haven’t quite finished it yet, but I’m hugely interested to see how Webb will develop these themes! There’s a couple really interesting poems about family relationships composed as a pantheon of gods, which I liked in particular. I might write up some of my favourite quotes – stay tuned!

To finish up, I’m just going to link you to a short poem about refugees. Listen to it.

Leave a Reply

