summer tv roundup

I’m not just a reader, but a TV binger too! So I thought I would dedicate today’s post to the TV that I watched over the summer – and maybe make some book suggestions too (because what would a book blog be without books?!)

secret-diary-of-a-call-girl-1

This is a British TV show that aired from 2007-2011. Starring Billie Piper, this is based on a book, The Intimate Diaries of a London Call Girl. Funny, sexy, and psychologically rich, the second season in particular is a feminist’s delight.

636073151560085688-220063821_screen-shot-2016-06-09-at-22-35-05

Yup, like everyone else, I watched Stranger Things over the summer. (I was a big fan – SEASON2 ANYONE?) I loved that it was such a mixture of genres. There are a lot of books that I could recommend to go with this – anything Stephen King (Carrie anyone?), A Wrinkle in Time, maybe The Ocean At The End of the Lane

game-of-thrones-logo-e1463348181881

I’m currently also on Season 5 of Game of Thrones, and loving every second of it. Obviously, there are the books, but I’d also like to read books that have the same sort of intrigue and backstabbing. Historical fiction like Philippa Gregory, Hilary Mantel, or Alison Weir come to mind, or other big fantasy series such as The Wheel of Time or Robin Hobb.

broadchurch1Bleak, but it has David Tennant. Swings and roundabouts, right?! Here I’m just going to list a whole bunch of Scandinavian authors, including Peter HøegHenning Mankell and Håkan Nesser. Apparently the TV show inspired a book, also called Broadchurch! Who knew.

2 thoughts on “summer tv roundup

Leave a Reply

