bisexual awareness week

Hello and welcome, one and all! It is a big week in the whatthelog household – it is a big week of celebrations! It is (as guessed from the title) Bisexual Awareness Week!

What is bisexuality?

tumblr_inline_n7hsjxocOc1qei1xr.png

(I think that this week is also a celebration of other people who are attracted to two or more genders, such as pansexuals, omnisexuals, and those who don’t use specific labels. If that’s you, celebrate too!)

Who is bisexual?

Loads of celebrities are, actually. A couple of my faves include:

And don’t forget me!

Got some book recs? 

Goodreads has quite a few lists about bisexuality, but here’s two that I have read, myself:

  1. Not Your Sidekick (review here) by C.B. Lee. Pretty much everyone has heard of this now, I’d imagine, but it is too good not to mention. CfowtYfVAAAwagL
  2. Bi: Notes for a Bisexual Revolution by Shiri Eisner. This is by NO MEANS a perfect book. There’s a lot of stuff that should have been edited better, and there are entire chapters that I, personally, would question. HOWEVER it is a fantastic starting-off point for anyone, whether they be bi, queer, or otherwise, about the politics of bisexuality and heterosexism/monosexism. It raises a lot of questions, so I thought it would be worth a mention. 1172273503

If you’d like to have a chat about anything I’ve mentioned here, or if you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to comment. I’m not an expert by any means, but I’m making it my mission to be out and proud, and to help anyone come to an understanding of bisexuality. 🙂

For more information, go onto GLAAD website or the Twitter hashtag BiWeek, where is a lot more to be found!

GO TEAM!

4 thoughts on “bisexual awareness week

Leave a Reply

