last year of uni breakdown

Ok, maybe not breakdown, but at least – mild panic.

For those of you who don’t know, I’m doing English Literature at the University of Warwick in the UK. It has opened my mind to so many new concepts and authors – I’ve been having an enormously great time.

This year alone I’m reading:

  • Shakespeare (including….Shakespeare)
  • North American Women Writers (including Toni Morrison, Octavia Butler and Alison Bechdel)
  • Crime Fiction (including Dickens, who I’ve been complaining about, Agatha Christie, and Ngaio Marsh)
  • New Fiction (including Ali Smith, Kazuo Ishiguro, and Dave Eggers). Hopefully I can bring some #DiverseBookBlogger action into the class!

And although I am not actually doing this course, per say, I will be picking up some of the reading for the module:

  • Queer and There: Queer Theory and the History of Sexuality in the Global Context (including The Book of Salt byย Monique Truong, and The Boyfriend by R. Raj Rao). I’m really hoping that this will give me a lot of new, international LGBT+ authors to read.

However, like all things, this is coming to an end – hence my mild panic. Do I do an MA? Do I go into the big bad working world? Has doing English lit been a waste of time?! HELP!

Got any advice for me? Anything would be appreciated to this soon-to-be proper adult. x

10 thoughts on “last year of uni breakdown

  1. Life of a Female Bibliophile says:

    You have got some great author selections for your courses. My college was quite small so I only had the opportunity to take one diverse lit class. Congrats on your last year at uni! I know it can be scary time, but just enjoy while it lasts. My advice would be to not wait to go grad school if you know what you want to do. I’ve been out of college for a couple of years now and I’m trying to plan everything to go back to school and get my MA in something that tied to my BA in English. If you’re hesitant about jumping back into school I would try to get a job that ties in with your degree. I hope this advice helps. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Brendon says:

    There seems to be a cultural belief that studying something like English Literature at a University is a ‘waste of time’ and not marketable. I really dislike that belief, devaluing not only literature in itself, but the degree and the folks who choose to pursue that degree. If you have loved English Lit then it has not been a waste of time!!

    As for grad school vs. ‘the real world’ … I got a job for a couple years before going back. The transition back was difficult but I really really wanted to pursue my Masters degree and because of that energy, I put in the time and effort. Like Rachel said above, if you know what you want to do in the future for a job, then it may be a good time to pursue a Masters without a break in education. Good luck and enjoy the rest of your time at the University!

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      Yeah, I’ve definitely had to school a couple of my friends about that! English lit is such a versatile degree – employers love that lit graduates can communicate/write, even if they don’t necessarily have job-specific skills.
      I will definitely keep all this advice in mind! There are some big decisions ahead!
      (Also, your comments are always so involved and thoughtful, I really appreciate all the time you have for little bloggers like me) ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Brendon says:

        ๐Ÿ™‚ I appreciate all the time and effort this blogging community puts into their writing! Part of what I love is supporting other bloggers. I look forward to hearing more about your job/internship/grad school plans!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

