impromptu book haul

I’m supposed to be saving money, preparing for my last year at university….

Yeah. That’s not happening.

A Riot of Goldfish by Kanoko Okamoto, translated by J. Keith Vincent. A tale of obsession with goldfish and a mysterious woman named Masako, this novella is followed by another, called The Food Demon.

Signs Preceding the End of the World by Yuri Herreda, translated by Lisa Dillman. Traversing the borders between Mexico and the US, I am hugely excited to read this masterpiece of poetry and violence.

The Bird by Oh Jung-Hee, translated by Jenny Wang Medina. Written by one of Korea’s most prized authors, this follows U-il and U-mi through grief and parental abandonment, from a child’s point-of-view.

The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson. A young adult novel about a transgender teenager, this is another book that I plan to review in order to annoy le bigots.

Bird Sisters by Julia Webb. This is a collection of poems that discusses the dark undertones and ‘otherness’ beneath sisters, families, and fairy tales. A collection I’ve been hoping to read for quite a while.

Fairytales for Lost Children by Diriye Osman. This is not yet another book of fairy tales – here young, LGBT+ Somalis come to terms with ‘family, identity and the immigrant experience’. Thanks to Naz for getting me in touch with this author – I honestly can’t wait to begin reading!

The Way the Crocodile Taught Me by Katrina Naomi. A tragi-comic collection of poems, this talks about childhood and family in often uncomfortable and creative ways.

The Immigration Handbook by Caroline Smith. My final collection of poems, they are based upon Smith’s experiences as an Immigration Caseworker in London. Many of the poems are inspired by people she met, and veers wildly between horrific detachment and true empathy.

Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivei, translated by Carol and Thomas Christensen. A classic from Mexico, this mixes recipes and romance, and is known the world over for its passion and wit.

3 thoughts on “impromptu book haul

  1. Bina says:

    Ahhh what a fantastic haul! I’m trying to curb my book envy since I splurged so outrageously just a week ago 😀 I really want to read the Herrera book and Fairytales! Also, Handbook of Immigration looks fantastic and I want to read more poetry anyway. Aaaand can you believe I have yet to read anything by Laura Esquivel? For shame! Happy reading with your new book pile!

    Liked by 1 person

    • whatthelog says:

      OMG I know, there are just so many books to be read! Hopefully this will stop me spending any more money on books for a while….. Cheers, this is my first Esquivel! Really excited to be (finally) reading such a classic. Will report back!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

