8th-15th august bookish roundup

Haven’t updated this particular section in a while, sorry about that, folks!

I’m sure all of you have heard about the Syria Speaks debacle: Faizah Shaheen was detained at Doncaster Airport for ‘suspicious behaviour’ – aka, reading Syria Speaks, a book challenging the culture of violence in Syria. Luckily, the publisher Saqi Books has reported that sales of the book have only risen since the incident. At least some good has come out of such a ridiculous abuse of the Terrorism Act.

The Booksellers Association has created Bookshop Day – Saturday the 8th of October. (The date apparently chosen because the 6th of October is a big day for 2016 releases.) This will be run in conjunction with the Books Are My Bag campaign, which will be going into its third year! Hopefully this will help pick up the slack between summer sales and the Christmas rush. And any day that celebrates books is a good one, in my opinion!

(Also I need these tote bags like right now.)

Tsehai Publishers in the US are creating a new imprint, called the Harriet Tubman Press. This is to allow the publishing house to include African-American literature, as it normally focuses on Ethiopian and African literature. It will launch this fall with a retrospective on Voices from Leimert Park, a poetry anthology.

August 2016 is Women in Translation Month! Here is a list that the Women in Translation group have put together and I have to say, they all sound brilliant! I’ve not read any of them myself, but some are definitely being added to my TBR. (The Twitter hashtag for this is #WITMonth, which I would also check out.) I have ordered The Bird, written by Oh Jung-Hee and published by Saqi Books as one of my women in translation reads!

Finally, I wanted to finish up by linking to a truly fantastic article from the blog LGBTQ Reads. Entitled ‘Goodbye, Bad Bi: The Lose-Lose Situation of Bisexual YA‘ by Casey Lawrence, this is an article that I highly recommend. It sums up many of the problems of writing bisexual characters, and I found it hugely insightful.

Got any other bookish news? Let me know, lovelies!

One thought on “8th-15th august bookish roundup

Leave a Reply

