the people in the trees review

The People in the Trees is the debut novel of Hanya Yanagihara (author of A Little Life). Published by Atlantic Books, it is the fictional memoir of Norton Perina, an unlikeable scientist who has made incredible discoveries, and incredible mistakes.

I’ve written this review about a dozen times, and I know I’m not going to get it right. This is not an easy book, and consequently I don’t have any easy thoughts. This is the best I can do, I’m afraid. If you’ve read the book, please comment, because I know that there are hundreds of other things I could say about it that I just don’t have the words for at the moment.

Even though Yanagihara’s prose is lush and thick and beautiful, there is nowhere to hide in this novel. The modern person’s Heart of Darkness, it follows Perina as he makes groundbreaking scientific discoveries about the people of Ivu’ivu, who have incredibly prolonged lives. There are some extremely thought-provoking discussions about colonisation and the morality of scientific enquiry. However, in my mind, this is quite secondary. The novel begins with the imprisonment of Perina, as he has been accused of pedophilia. Rape and pedophilia continue to be prevalent throughout the novel, as Perina watches an Ivu’ivu ceremony in which a young boy is raped by the male members of his tribe as an initiation into adulthood.

Yanagihara doesn’t blunder into such controversial topics without thought – she writes about the difference between cultural norms and abuses in a way that I can only applaud. And I know that The People in the Trees is supposed to unsettle. Much like Nabakov’s Lolita, you are not supposed to go into it looking for a gentle or easy read, however beautiful the prose might be. However, through the discussion of rape, and the character of Perina himself, I found there were some insidious links between Perina’s (presumed) homosexuality and his eventual sexual abuse of one of his adopted Ivu’ivu children. I had to force myself to finish it after this.

I’ll be honest, if I had known what the novel was about, I don’t know if I would have read it. Literature is supposed to provoke and unsettle and raise the most difficult of life’s questions, but…this. The People in the Trees is undoubtedly a masterpiece of modern literature. But I’m not going to be reading it again.

5 thoughts on “the people in the trees review

  1. Jupiter Brown says:

    What a well-thought-out review. I believe you’ve captured the pull of books like these while maintaining your own sense of unease. You’ve made me want to read it :). But I can understand how books like this are deeply unsettling.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Read Diverse Books says:

    I’m having a hard time deciding on what Yanahihara novel to start with. Both sound absolutely soul crushing and dark, but I don’t tend to shy from those kinds of books in general. They actually draw my attention further. I don’t know what that says about me.
    Thanks for the great review and for linking it on my blog.

    Like

    • whatthelog says:

      I’ll admit, if I had known what it was about, I don’t know if I would have read it. It is masterful, and horrific. I feel like I can’t recommend it, but somehow, I have to.
      However, saying that, I’m probably still going to read A Little Life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

