25th july – 1st august bookish roundup

First thing’s first: The Cursed Child is HERE! I’ve finished it, obviously, and I’m in such shock that I can’t quite express all my emotions. All I know is that I NEED to see it at the theatre, now. My local Waterstones had a couple of things going on – butterbeer and Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans and chocolate frogs and THE BOOK ITSELF. I took some ridiculous selfies and scuttled out of there in order to binge-read for the rest of Sunday. What did your local bookstores do?!

Harlequin UK has a new imprint called Story HQ – it’s been announced that this is sort-of a rebrand for them, but I can’t actually find much more information than that. If you know anything about it, do let me know, because this sounds really interesting!

In app news (and you know I’m always interested in book tie-ins), Octopus Publishing is releasing an app that will help dog owners train their pups! Based on Gwen Bailey’s  puppy care book, Perfect Puppy, Puppy School is available for download now – I might give it a go!

2/3 of summer 2016 has passed us by…and some of the bestsellers have been:

  1. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling. Obviously.
  2. The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry
  3. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  4. Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi (which I need NOW)
  5. The Girls by Emma Cline

What have you been reading this summer?!

Leave a Reply

