new york times “by the book” tag

What book is on your night stand now?

The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga.

What was the last truly great book that you read?

Hope in the Dark by Rebecca Solnit (review here).

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

Oh God. Um. I’d like to meet Agatha Christie – I’d ask her how she plots! (And generally have a good time – she seems like a top lass! Well, according to Doctor Who, anyway.)

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelves?

I’m a pretty avid knitter, so I’ve got quite a few knitting/crafty books on my shelves.

How do you organize your personal library?

No organisation. I just know where things are.

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet? Anything you feel embarrassed never to have read?

Did a whole post on this!

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t? Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing?

I just finished Hanya Yanagihara’s The People in the Trees. I heard really great things about A Little Life, and this was £2.00. I finished it, but, ugh. It was not for me.

What kinds of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I’ll read pretty much anything, as long as it isn’t ‘white people get enlightened’/’white male nihilist finds himself in the modern age’. I do not have time for that.

If you could require the prime minister to read one book, what would it be?  

Uhhh… Brick Lane by Monica Ali.

What do you plan to read next?

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg. I’m taking the bus to and from work, and so I need some hefty novels to get me through!

Leave a Reply

