wishlist wednesday

This is a meme created by Pens to Paper that I thought I would try 🙂

I have an enormous number of books on my wishlist, but here are just a few!

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi – an epic of three hundred years in Ghana and the United States, EVERYONE is raving about this one. I want to get on that bandwagon!

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz – again, everyone and their mum has read this one! A classic in YA LGBT+ fiction that I really must read.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling – I NEED IT I NEED IT NOW.

The Hairdresser of Harare by Tendai Huchu – recommended by Bina at If You Can Read This, this novel discusses LGBT+ issues in contemporary Zimbabwe. It looks simply fantastic, and is published by one of my favourites, Freight Books!

Lily and Dunkin by Donna Gephart – recommended to me during last week’s #AskALibrarian, this is another YA novel that features Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy with bipolar disorder. This is everything I am looking for right now, and I’m extremely excited to get my hands on this!

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – because I’m working on reading my modern classics.

Death and the Penguin by Andrey Kurkov – get another novel that’s been described as ‘Kafkaesque’, but this one actually sounds good. The debut novel from this Ukranian writer, I can’t wait to read this gloriously cynical work.

ALSO ALSO ALSO!

feminism

There’s going to be a #YAFeministChat on Twitter on 20th July. Organised by Kristen Carter (@kayceewrites), there’s going to be one at 3pm EST for those of us outside of the US, and one at 8pm for US folks.

Be there or be square!

Leave a Reply

