george review

Once again, sorry for the recent silence, folks. I went to London Pride on Saturday, and have been without a laptop since then. However, I’m going to do my best to make it up to you!

‘George’ is a middle-grade novel about a girl who is born in the body of a boy. Written by Alex Gino, this is an overwhelmingly emotional and uplifting book for all ages. George wants to be cast as Charlotte in a school production of Charlotte’s Web, but knows that people might not understand that her sex and gender are not the same. Encouraged by her friend Kelly, she decides to take the plunge…

For context: I read this on the train to Pride, and it took every fibre of my being not to burst into tears. This ought to be required reading for everyone, everywhere. I am not transgender, but in my necessarily limited understanding as a cis-sexual individual, I found this to be an excellent introduction to transgender issues, such as bathroom anxiety, slight body dysmorphia and the difference between being gay and trans. Written from a child’s point-of-view, the novel manages to cut through the layers of meaning that society places upon male and female bodies. It is a pure celebration of the courage it takes to be yourself.

Optimistic, but not unrealistic, I want to give a copy to everyone I know, and I want to strategically drop copies at train stations and on buses for people to find. I want there to be a copy in every library and every bookshop. ‘George’ is, with no doubt, the best book that I have read this year.

Finally, I thought this might also be a relevant place to talk about my experience of London Pride. I had never been to a Pride before, and to be honest, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’d watched it on TV before, but nothing could have prepared me for the reality, I don’t think.

I was blown away by the sheer amount of love that went into everything at Pride. We danced in the rain during ‘It’s Raining Men’, we cried during the tribute to Orlando, and we screamed for joy as people hugged, flirted, and kissed. It is such a privilege to live in a country in which our true selves can be celebrated rather than condemned.

I wish you all a rather belated but heartfelt Happy Pride. xx

4 thoughts on “george review

  1. Read Diverse Books says:

    Pride in London wounds amazing! I’d love to experience the glory of that parade.
    It was very brave of you to read this on the train. I would probably have cried despite my earnest attempts not to. I look forward to reading this book sometime this year. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

    Liked by 1 person

    • whatthelog says:

      I really don’t have the words to describe how wonderful the ‘George’/Pride day was. Such overwhelming love is what has kept my spirits high in this horrible, horrible week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

