june book haul

I’ve been having a gander through my university and local libraries in the past few days, and I thought I would give you a bit of an update on what I discovered!

Currently reading (from my university library): White Teeth by Zadie Smith. This is one of the books I’m reading for the Diverse Books Tag, and I have to say, I am hugely enjoying it. I’m not usually one for huge family sagas, but the characters in this feel so familiar to me that I cannot help but delight in their craziness.

I then moved onto my local library, where I picked up a few books:

  • Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne. As I’ve said before, YA isn’t my favourite genre but this apparently has a really feminist tone to it, and focuses on mental illness. Good stuff. 🙂
  • Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman. Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2011, diverse, and apparently contains a superb commentary upon life in London from the point-of-view of a child.
  • The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga. Winner of the 2009 Man Booker Prize, this is a debut novel that explores amorality and the divide between rural and urban India.
  • The Waves by Virginia Woolf. I’ve not read it yet, and I probably should!

I was finally sent An Unreliable Guide to London by Influx Press, which I am hugely excited to read! This is a compilation of 23 stories about London, which will be an interesting addendum to my travel guide thoughts.

Also, I’m not going to get overly political here, but – there were two referendums today. One in the UK about the EU, which obviously affects a huge number of people. And another in Bermuda, my former home, about same-sex marriage. It didn’t pass. I wasn’t at all surprised, but I’m still pretty shaken up. For me, such a clear message of hatred is difficult to understand.

We must continue to read with love, to read with our eyes and hearts wide open, and to promote #ownvoices with all of our energy.

Only then can there be change.

2 thoughts on “june book haul

  1. ladydisdainnotes says:

    “We must continue to read with love, to read with our eyes and hearts wide open, and to promote #ownvoices with all of our energy.” YES. I love this. Reading has always been about opening one’s world to other experiences and empathizing with others, and there’s a strong movement now to advance even more on this path. I just hope things continue to move in that direction.

    Liked by 1 person

    • whatthelog says:

      Goodness, me too. I’ve been a bit absent on social media recently, but what I’ve seen about the UK has shocked me (even though I probably shouldn’t be). I sincerely hope that as a community we can join together to diminish the hatred that is being expressed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

