diverse books tag

Ok I’m doing this for books that I haven’t read, but I WILL READ in 2016. I’m thinking that I might go back to edit this after I’ve read each book and add a link to my review, just to make sure that I do get around to all of them.

Lol I wasn’t tagged but whatever.

Find a book starring a lesbian character.

Borderlands/La Frontera by Gloria Anzaldua. I was supposed to read this for university this year, but I didn’t have time.

Find a book set in Latin America.

The Hour of the Star by Clarice Lispector.

Find a book about a person with a disability.

Shtum by Jem Lester.

Find a Science-Fiction or Fantasy book with a POC protagonist.

I’m not huge on science-fiction/fantasy so I’ve had to be a bit more creative with this one! I’ve chosen Death by Water by Kenzaburo Oe – while not directly SF/F it does have elements of myth and fantasy in it, which is the closest I’m going to get, I think!

Find a book set in (or about) any country in Africa.

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie because WHY HAVEN’T I READ THIS ALREADY?!

Find a book written by an Aboriginal or American Indian author.

The Woman Who Owned the Shadows by Paula Gunn Allen

Find a book set in South Asia (Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, etc.).

Man Tiger by Eka Kurniawan (set in Indonesia).

Find a book with a biracial protagonist.

White Teeth by Zadie Smith. Because again, I need to read the some of the classics.

Find a book starring a transgender character or about transgender issues.

George by Alex Gino. I’ve heard quite a lot about this recently and I wanted to do a bit more reading in YA, because so many of the book bloggers I follow focus on YA!

If you have any recommendations for me for other books in any of these categories, let me know!

4 thoughts on “diverse books tag

    • whatthelog says:

      Cheers! I nearly put Isabel Allende on my list like you did – please let me know how you get on with it! She’s another one of those writers who I know I should read but just haven’t got around to yet.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

