may 30th – june 6th bookish roundup

This is going to have to be a quick one, I’m afraid – I’ve got around six ancient Greek plays to read and analyse by Thursday, so I’m a bit busy! (I searched desperately for some sort of pun here, but came up with nothing. Sorry. Or you’re welcome. Not sure which.)

‘Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls’ has made crowdfunding history. This is a book about the lives of extraordinary women, written in the style of fairy tales, by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo. The illustrations will be drawn by 100 different female illustrators from around the world. Personally I hope they raise even more money! This sounds like the sort of book that little girls everywhere should be reading.

The #ReadProud event has been going strong! Penguin has been really great about raising awareness for this campaign, which I think is just brilliant! They’ve got some recommended LGBT+ books here. Their tag is #LGBTQLibrary if you want to check out more!

Some particularly buzzed-about books for #ReadProud include:

  1. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo
  2. George by Alex Gino
  3. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  4. Giovanni’s Room by James Baldwin

In my personal reading life, I am absolutely drowning in books! (What a way to go.) I’m really looking forward to the end of exams so I can actually get my nose into them. I’m slowly making my way through Neil Gaiman’s ‘The View from the Cheap Seats’ because UM YES. But that’s all I have time for at the minute!

What are you guys reading? Happy Monday x

Leave a Reply

