a southern bookshop extravaganza!

So I was going into Bath for rather serious you-need-to-get-a-job missions, and I decided to pop into a couple of bookish places whilst I was there. What can I say, when in Bath.

I first went into the gift-shop for the baths themselves. Unfortunately I didn’t have the time (or the cash!) to go into the baths properly, but I enjoyed trundling around the gift-shop nonetheless. I don’t need books about Roman Britain, but aren’t some of those pretty?!

12922305_10208291832434386_1601546375_o

Then, quite by accident, I found myself at the Jane Austen Museum. Here I annoyed an American by encouraging her child to read ‘Northanger Abbey’ as her first Austen rather than ‘Pride and Prejudice’. What can I say, I spread the Northanger joy wherever I go. I also bought ‘The Beautifull Cassandra’, number 33 of Penguin’s Little Black Classics.

I was running a bit late at this point, but who was I to pass up Bath Old Books?! The proprietor was absolutely lovely, and I wish I’d had the time to have a proper chat. However, I made do with buying ‘The Death of the Moth’, a collection of essays by Virginia Woolf.

Finally, I headed to the most glorious of bookish places. Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights. I really, really wish I had scheduled my time properly because I could have stayed here for hours. When I went upstairs I saw a young girl having what looked like a ‘book consultation’ – basically, a talk with a salesperson who would be sending her a personally recommended book each month! OMG! And they had one of my favourite things on this earth – a staff recommends shelf.

In the end, I bought ‘Who Cooked Adam Smith’s Dinner’ (a feminist economics book), and ‘My Name is Lucy Barton’. I hadn’t planned on buying the second one, but the salesperson at the till was so enthusiastic about it that I couldn’t leave without it.

12946964_10208291835354459_499398841_o

Oh, Captain Wentworth! What shall I do with all these books?!

Read them, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

